Griffins beat Wolves for lead in playoffs series

Grand Rapids Griffins

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (WOOD) — The Grand Rapids Griffins moved one step closer to putting the Chicago Wolves on ice.

In a wild AHL playoff game that included a lengthy delay due to ice conditions and multiple brawls, the Griffins collected an ugly 6-2 win Tuesday night at Van Andel Arena in Game 3 of the Central Division semifinals.

Grand Rapids took a 2-1 lead in the best-of-five series and can close it out Wednesday night at home. The Griffins split the first two games in Chicago.

“We stuck together and we took care of business and we got the win, which is the most important thing,” Grand Rapids’ Martin Frk, who had a goal and two assists, said. “We got a 2-1 lead now and we want to finish it tomorrow.”

The four-hour game was delayed by almost 40 minutes after the second intermission due to an ice issue behind the net.

Each team had 15 penalties and combined for 144 penalty minutes.

The Griffins, making their seventh consecutive postseason appearance, scored four unanswered goals after the game was tied 2-2 to put it out of reach for the Wolves.

Wade Megan registered back-to-back goals in the second period to give Grand Rapids a 4-2 advantage. Filip Zadina tacked on another goal in the second to make it 5-2.

Chicago opened the scoring with a power play goal after Grand Rapids’ Dylan Mcllrath collided with Chicago’s Tyler Wong and was ejected for 5-minute major penalty. Wong was carted off on a stretcher.

Grand Rapids evened the score later in the first when Zadina ripped a shot past Max Lagace on an assist from Dominic Turgeon. Frk gave the Griffins a 2-1 lead before Chicago knotted it again with a goal from Tye McGinn.

The Griffins finished it off with a power play goal from Matt Puempel late in the third.

Grand Rapids goalie Harri Sateri was stout in the net and stopped 35 of 37 shots.

Chicago was 6-0 this season against Grand Rapids when scoring a power play.

The Griffins were outshot 37-25.



Grand Rapids Griffins

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.