>>App users: Tap here to read this story with graphics.

LANSING, Mich. (WOOD) — With the new year comes a new set of laws for people living in Michigan.

While many of the measures deal with medical and recreational marijuana, others impact the workplace, including a hike in the state’s minimum wage and mandatory paid sick leave for many employers.

On Sept. 5, the Republican-controlled Legislature voted to approve two citizen initiatives, the Michigan One Fair Wage and Michigan Time to Care, with plans to amend the measures later by a simple majority vote.

The law signed by then-Gov. Rick Snyder on Dec. 14 slows the gradual increase in the state’s $9.25 minimum wage to $12.05 an hour by 2030, instead of the initially approved $12 by 2022.

The law goes into effect in March and includes incremental increase to the following hourly rates:

>>PDF: Michigan’s minimum wage law (Act No. 368)

Also in March, the paid sick leave law is expected to take effect. The law exempts employers with fewer than 50 employees from having to provide paid sick days — a change to the initial measure the Michigan League for Public Policy estimates will leave up to 1 million employees at 162,000 small businesses without the benefit.

>>PDF: Michigan’s paid sick leave law (Act No. 369)

The paid sick leave law requires eligible businesses to award workers one hour of paid leave for every 35 hours worked, with a cap of 40 hours instead of 72 hours as proposed by the initiative.

***CORRECTION: An earlier version of this story incorrectly stated the minimum wage increase would take effect in January. We regret this error, which has since been corrected.***