Whitmer calls COVID-19 vaccine sweepstakes a success, final winners announced


GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (WOOD) — Gov. Gretchen Whitmer called the MI Shot to Win Sweepstakes a success as the final round of winners was announced Monday morning.

The sweepstakes came short of its goal to increase the state’s vaccination rate to 70% of residents age 16 and older, but the state noted it helped increase Michigan’s vaccination rate from 61% to 63%. As of Aug. 20, 65% of Michigan residents ages 16 and up have received at least one COVID-19 vaccine.

Michigan recorded week-to-week increases for first dose vaccinations throughout the sweepstakes:

  • From July 4 to July 10: 28,000 first doses administered
  • From July 11 to July 17: 30,000 first doses administered
  • From July 18 to July 24: 35,000 first doses administered
  • From July 25 to July 30: 41,000 first doses administered

Christine Duval of Bloomfield Township was announced as the $2 million grand prize winner during the press conference Monday.

The final eight winners of the $50,000 daily drawing were announced Monday:

  • July 23: Todd Demeyers of Oakland County’s Oakland Township
  • July 24: Alyssa Armstrong of Caledonia
  • July 25: Caleb Nielsen of Paw Paw
  • July 26: Brandon Ebright of Okemos
  • July 27: Kevin Underwood of Lowell
  • July 28: Brian Kulesz of Sterling Heights
  • July 29: Jacqueline Paul of Indian River
  • July 30: Breya Matthews of Grand Rapids

The nine four-year college scholarships for those vaccinated ages 12 to 17 were also announced. The following winners will receive a four-year Michigan Education Trust Charitable Tuition Program, which is valued at $55,000:

  • Landon Burkhart who attends Dakota High School in Macomb County 
  • Karan Choudhary who attends Plymouth High School in Wayne County 
  • Josiah DeBaets who attends Forest Hills Eastern High School in Kent County 
  • Ian Miller who attends Salem High School in Wayne County 
  • Meadow Surman who attends White Lake Middle School in Oakland County 
  • Mallory Wheeler who attends Reading High School in Hillsdale County 
  • Jackson Wittwer who attends Eisenhower High School in Macomb County 
  • Kamare Wright who attends Thurston High School in Wayne County 
  • Hudson Chambers who attends Grand Rapids City High Middle School in Kent County 

More than 2.4 million Michigan residents entered the giveaway, the state said, which ended Aug. 3. Almost 105,000 young residents entered the scholarship drawings.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs

More COVID-19 Vaccine FAQ

Top Stories On WOODTV.com

Know something newsworthy? Report It!