10 candidates for GR City Commission appointment

Grand Rapids

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (WOOD) — Ten people will be considered to fill a vacant Grand Rapids City Commission seat.

The candidates who met all the requirements to be appointed to represent the 3rd Ward are:

  • Ryan Anderson
  • Ja’Keem Badge
  • Audrey Campbell
  • Paula Collier
  • Austin Dean
  • Jonathan Gartner
  • Sarah Hampton
  • Marci Lewandowski-Jenkins
  • Nathaniel Moody
  • Jeffrey Snyder

The applicants will be interviewed Tuesday at City Hall by a subcommittee made up of 3rd Ward Commissioner Senita Lenear, 1st Ward Commissioner Jon O’Connor and 2nd Ward Commissioner Joe Jones, as well as people who live in and business owners from the 3rd Ward.

The subcommittee will recommend finalists to the City Commission, which will conduct its own interviews and take public comment July 24. An appointment will be made during a special meeting July 31.

You will be able to watch all the interviews, the hearing and the vote steaming live on the city’s Facebook and YouTube pages, as well as on Comcast Channel 26, the Grand Rapids Information Network.

The candidates are vying to replace David Allen, who stepped down last month to focus on his job leading the Kent County land bank, recently renamed InnovaLaB. The appointed commissioner will serve out the remainder of Allen’s term, which ends in August 2019.

Lenear and Mayor Rosalynn Bliss had suggested appointing former Commissioner James White, but he removed his name from consideration.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Know something newsworthy? Report It!

News 8 Links