LANSING, Mich. (AP) - An insurance board says the annual fee that Michigan drivers pay for some personal injury costs will increase 6 percent to $186 per year starting July 1.
The Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association announced the fee Wednesday. The current cost is $175 per vehicle.
The state's no-fault insurance law requires insurance companies to pay the annual assessment to cover personal injury benefits.
The association reimburses insurers for costs above $500,000 for the care and treatment of seriously injured auto accident survivors.
The Coalition Protecting Auto No-Fault is suing the association seeking detailed information about how it calculates the assessment, and the coalition criticizes the announcement.
Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
A train hit a semi-truck in Battle Creek Thursday morning.
The Ford Mustang is celebrating its 50th birthday with a new design and plans to go global.
Fast-food workers and labor organizers are marching, waving signs and chanting in cities across the country Thursday amid a push for higher wages.